1 2 3 4

The Rule of Law Platform for Central Asia invites students and young professionals of Central Asia to participate in its competition to find the “Regional Legal Champions – 2014”.

The European Union received the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize for having “contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy, and human rights in Europe”[1]. The EU strongly believes that, as has been the case for the EU, regional cooperation in the five Central Asian States can contribute to peace and promote human rights and democracy and rule of law.


What is the aim of the competition?

  • Promoting a regional framework as an adequate platform to foster the rule of law in the Central Asian region, and
  • Identifying talented students and young legal professionals to consolidate its European-Central Asian Network of Rule of Law Experts and Institutions.


Who can participate?

The Regional Legal Competition targets students and young professionals in Central Asia. To participate, you must comply with the following eligibility requirements:
(1) be aged up to 35,
(2) be a citizen of either Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan or Uzbekistan, and
(3) have a very good command of English, French or German.

Students of law faculties, political sciences and other disciplines, trainees in vocational training centres or young professionals (lawyers, judges, public prosecutors, enforcement agents, judicial experts, insolvency practitioners, etc.) are encouraged to participate.

How to participate?

The application is simple:

(1) Simply write an essay. The EU Rule of Law Initiative for Central Asia constitutes the overarching regional framework for enhanced cooperation of the rule of law area. As a citizen of a Central Asian State, why and how do you think this might foster the rule of law in the Central Asian region?
(2) The essay should have a minimum of 800 words and a maximum of 1000 words.
(3) The essay must be written either in English, French or German.

 What is the deadline?

Written contributions must reach the Platform project at info@ruleoflaw.eu before May 30, 2014 (12.00 a.m GMT). The mail must indicate the full name, age, citizenship, occupation of the applicant and the essay must be submitted in a single virus-free Word file. It must include a declaration that the essay has been written by the applicant without external help.

 Which criteria will be used to select the winners?

The best essay in terms of writing style, structure, argumentation and innovative thinking will be selected for each Central Asian State. An in-depth review by a jury composed of law professors from the EU and Central Asia will be conducted.

 What will the winners get?

The essays of the five winners of the Regional Legal Competition (one per Central Asian State) will be published and the five winners will win either a tour of EU institutions, or a professional internship in an EU Member State, depending on their profile and qualifications. The tour of EU institutions or the professional internship will take place before the end of 2014.

 The Rule of Law Platform

Under the auspices of the EU’s Rule of Law Initiative for Central Asia, the Rule of Law Platform project acts as a coordination mechanism to facilitate policy dialogue and promote the measures needed to encourage and support legal and governance reforms in each of the Central Asian countries.

To further the goals of the Rule of Law Initiative and political dialogue, the project supports the Central Asian partners with core legal and judicial reforms. In this way it contributes towards the development of a stable and democratic political framework, functioning economic structures and the promotion and respect of human rights, as called for by the EU Strategy for Central Asia.

 Organisation of the Regional Legal Competition

The Regional Legal Competition is organised by the Rule of Law Platform. As coordinators of the EU Rule of Law Initiative for Central Asia, France and Germany, with the support of the European External Action Services and the European Commission, provide their high patronage to the organisation of the Regional Legal Competition. Information about the Regional Legal Competition will be disseminated by the French and German Embassies, the Goethe Institutes, the Centres Culturels Français, the Delegations of the European Union located in Central Asia, as well as the 28 Central Asian members of the Institutions Network of the Rule of Law Platform including think tanks, academic institutions, vocational training centers and specialised NGOs.

 For additional information

Write us to : info@ruleoflaw.eu


[1] 1952 saw the creation of the European Coal and Steel Community, which was declared to be “a first step in the federation of Europe”, starting with the aim of eliminating the possibility of further wars between its member states by means of pooling the national heavy industries. In 1957, the six countries signed the Treaty of Rome, which extended the earlier co-operation within the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and created the European Economic Community (EEC), establishing a customs union. The European Union was formally established when the Maastricht Treaty came into force on 1 November 1993. In 2002 the Euro replaced national currencies in 12 members states. In 2009, the Lisbon Treaty entered into force and reformed many aspects of the EU. In particular, it changed the legal structure of the European Union, creating a single legal entity provisioned with a legal personality, established a permanent President of the European Council.